Nadja – Reflection

I thoroughly enjoyed reading Nadja by André Breton. The novel started off a little slow, especially with the surrealism jargon. Thus, the only issue I had with the novel was the beginning and the end, which discussed surrealism. Although, the surreal lens used to write this novel added to its charm.

One of the main themes I saw in the story was obsession. The relationship between Nadja and the author is shown to be an obsession, with him longing to see her everyday questioning “what can I do in the meantime, if I don’t see her?” (90). His tendency to become obsessed is also demonstrated through the movie “The Grip of the Octopus”, which he claims to have seen multiple times.

I found that when I was reading, I kept getting caught off guard due to the sudden changes and new knowledge about Nadja. Nadja on the surface appeared to be very intelligent and independent when we are first introduced to her. As we got to know Nadja more through the narrator’s eyes, Nadja became a more complex and layered character. I found Nadja rather interesting, especially as we learned more about her past. There are multiple mentions that allude to Nadja having a tough life before the climax ending of the story. I often found myself second guessing her intentions due to her reliance on the author for money and her shifting moods. It was not until I found out the whole picture, aka Nadja being “mad” that her actions and mood swings seemed to make sense.

Furthermore, how the author described his relationship with Nadja was also a point of interest for me in the novel. The author often describes the power dynamic between himself and Nadja. The author claims Nadja “takes me for a god, she thinks of me as the sun” (111). I found this interesting because the reader is not aware of many specifics surrounding Nadja’s life before the author comes to know her, which makes me question why she creates this power dynamic between her and someone she is romantically and sexually interested in. It made me question how this could have been an effect from prior relationships she has had, or if it is simply her way of expressing love.

I was not expecting the discussion on mental institutions, but I was pleasantly surprised by the commentary the author provided. His strong anti-institutionalization of those with mental health illnesses demonstrated some interesting commentary on social norms during the time. I specifically see the line “Nadja was poor, which in our time is enough to condemn her” (142), very telling of the social constructions during this time. I do not have much knowledge on the view the general public had on institutionalized psychiatric treatment, but I am inclined to think André Breton was unique in his opinions on the matter.

Overall, Nadja was a very enjoyable, thought provoking novel that allowed me to connect with the characters and themes in the story.

Discussion Questions 

  1. What are some clues that hint to what happens to Nadja at the end of the story?
  2. Do you think the author really loved Nadja? Why or why not?

5 responses to “Nadja – Reflection”

  1. Hi Samantha! I had a similar question to yours. Asking is the author (Breton) even loved Nadja. Honestly, I spent a lot of my blog proving how the author was probably using her for the motive of Nadja being the ‘muse’ for his book. I am left with barely any evidence of Breton genuinely having love for her. The man was being a man and used her practically. Whilst Nadja was in the asylum, Breton was busy concerned for him losing her and not having his ‘muse’ anymore. It seems so selfish! I don’t think that’s love. Lol.

    Like

  2. Hi Samantha! I think the author left space for the reader about Nadja. In my perspective, he definitely cared about her, but it is not a “love” that he actually felt. He rather tried to use her for his own search of his self, and his manifesto of the real world. Indeed, he felt some kind of affection, but I think it is nothing more than just sympathy.

    Like

  3. HI Samantha! I also agree that Breton seemed to be more obsessed with the idea of Nadja rather than being romantically intererested in her. At first their relationships presents itself as romantic but as it continues he seems more interested in having her as a muse for his work and to help challenge his own self and world views.

    Like

  4. ‘It was not until I found out the whole picture, aka Nadja being “mad” that her actions and mood swings seemed to make sense.’

    You put “mad” in scare quotes here, as though you don’t quite believe it, at the same time as suggesting that it is Nadja’s madness that explains her behaviour. How does the book make us question such diagnoses of mental illness? Is she really “mad”?

    By the way, I like very much the way in which you take up and try to think about specific phrases and lines you encounter in the book.

    Like

  5. Hi Samantha!
    What a great question! I found myself wondering this same thing. I think André mistook his obsession for love. It seems as though no matter what Nadja did or said, he always seemed to glorify her. She could do no wrong in his eyes as she was his muse and he wished to continue seeing her that way. He seemed to put her on this pedestal which is probably why he overlooked her being mentally ill. He refused to see her that way.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started